Amendments to the Yukon Act passed by Parliament allowed for an expansion of council membership from 12 to 16 in 1978 and provided for future expansion to 20.

Yukon legislative assembly members are elected for four-year terms. The assembly usually meets twice a year in Whitehorse.

Northwest Territories. The Northwest Territories Act (RSC 1970, c.N-22) provides for an executive, legislative and judicial structure. The commissioner is the chief executive officer, appointed by the federal government and responsible for the administration of Northwest Territories under the direction of the minister of Indian affairs and northern development. The commissioner spends funds voted by the legislative assembly and all new revenue measures are subject to assembly approval. Normally the commissioner obtains federal approval of proposed legislation and budgetary measures before submitting them to council.

The legislative assembly of Northwest Territories consists of 24 members elected for four years. It is required to meet at least twice a year, and in practice generally meets three times a year, usually for four weeks at a winter session and for shorter spring and fall sessions.

The Northwest Territories Act gives the territorial legislative assembly authority to legislate in most areas of government activity except for natural resources other than game; these are reserved to the federal government. Legislation must receive three readings and have the assent of the commissioner. The federal government may disallow any ordinance within one year. The commissioner proposes most legislation but private members' bills are allowed, except for money matters, which are the prerogative of the commissioner. Besides draft legislation, the legislative assembly gives considerable time to policy papers in which the commissioner or other executive committee members seek advice or authority to take a particular course of action.

Parliament approved legislation in March 1979 for the political development of Northwest Territories. Amendments to the Northwest Territories Act allowed the NWT council to set its own number of members, as long as there is a minimum of 15 and no more than 25 members. Previously Parliament had authority to set the number of members, 15 since 1974. The legislative assembly has since set the number at 24; an election for the enlarged number was held in November 1983. The legislative assembly selects its speaker from among its members: previously the commissioner was the presiding officer. The assembly also nominates up to eight of its members to the executive committee along with the commissioner, who is chairman. This committee advises the commissioner on broad policy matters and acts as a consultive body for him. Each elected executive committee member is responsible for one or more departments of the territorial government.

The federal justice minister is the attorney general of Northwest Territories under the Criminal Code of Canada, with responsibility for criminal but not for civil matters or the constitution or organization of the courts. Law enforcement is provided by the Royal Canadian Mounted Police.

19.7 Local government

Local government in Canada comprises all government entities created by the provinces and territories to provide services that can be more effectively discharged through local control. Broadly speaking, local government services are identified in terms of their main functions: protection, transportation, environmental health, environmental development, health and welfare services, recreation, community services and education. Local government may also operate such facilities as public transit and the supply of electricity and gas. Education is normally administered separately from the other local functions.

Under the Constitution Act, 1867 local government was made a responsibility of the provincial legislatures, a responsibility extended to the territories when their governments were constituted in their present forms. The unit of local government, apart from the school board, is usually the municipality which is incorporated as a city, town, village, township or other designation. The powers and responsibilities of municipalities are delegated to them by statutes passed by their respective provincial or territorial legislatures.

An increasing number of special agencies or joint boards and commissions have been created to provide certain services for groups of municipalities. Local government revenue has been supplemented by provincial grants, either unconditional or for specific purposes. Certain functions traditionally assigned to local government have been assumed in whole or in part by the provinces. Besides encouraging the amalgamation of small units, the provinces have established new levels of local government to provide services which can be better discharged at a regional level. Second-tier local governments now cover the whole of British Columbia and much of Ontario. In Quebec three regional governments have been established.

The major revenue source available to local government is the taxation of real property, supplemented by taxation of personal property, businesses and amusements. Revenue is also derived from licences, permits, rents, concessions, franchises, fines and surplus funds from municipal enterprises.

Newfoundland has 320 incorporated municipalities comprised of two cities, one metropolitan area, 167